Syllabus - "Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision" (Oregon)
Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision ("BASS" or the "principal broker course") is the required 40 hour prerequisite course for if you are a broker who wants to become a principal broker. This course can also be used as continuing education for broker or principal broker license renewal.
The course is in two parts:
Part 1 introduces you to topics dealing with the operation of a real estate brokerage. These topics include:
- Management of a Brokerage
- Business Planning
- Broker Supervision
- Real Estate Office and Regulatory Requirements
- Financial Records Trust Accounting
- Financial Records and Reports - Non-Trust Account
- Non-Financial Records and REA Audits
Part II is a review of the topics to be found on the Oregon principal broker licensing exam. These topics include:
- Real Estate Law
- Property Management
How To Get A Principal Broker License In Oregon
To obtain a principal broker real estate license from the Oregon Real Estate Agency you must do the following:
- Enroll in the OnlineEd Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision course; Submit your principal broker license application to the Oregon Real Estate Agency sometime before completion of your coursework.
- Complete your course and confirm with OnlineEd that you have submitted your principal broker license application to the Oregon Real Estate Agency.
- OnlineEd will then upload your electronic eligibility file and required personal information to PSI, the licensing exam proctor.
- Schedule and pay for your licensing examination by contacting PSI as instructed upon course completion.
- Sit for the licensing exam at the PSI location you select from the PSI web site.
- When you pass the licensing exam, you will receive an email from the Oregon Real Estate Agency containing a website link for you to print out your principal broker real estate license.
Before you can obtain an Oregon Principal Broker license, you must be 18 years of age or older and have a high school diploma or GED equivalent. You also need to have at least 3 years of active real estate experience as a licensed real estate broker. (Oregon Administrative Rules 863-014-0040)
If you never passed an Oregon background check, the Oregon Real Estate Agency may require you to submit fingerprints and clear their background check process.
If you are a licensed Oregon real estate broker, the Oregon Real Estate Agency has records and proof of your past 3 years of real estate experience on-file. If you are licensed in a different state, then the REA will require you to submit a certified license history from that state.
Although this course is largely self-guided, you may contact your instructor if you have questions or concerns about the course content.
Issuance of Credit
At the end of this course, you will receive a link to download a legal completion certificate. This certificate can be printed on your personal printer. If you do not have a printer, you may contact OnlineEd to have a copy faxed or mailed. Credit will not be issued for incomplete or partially completed courses.
This course is compatible with all major web browsers and operating systems. This includes Internet Explorer 8+ and current versions of Chrome, Safari, Opera, and Firefox. Current Android and iOS mobile devices are supported.
Access to this course is allowed for 730 days, and up to 180 days after completion, whichever is greater. The course will be available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, unless there is scheduled system maintenance. If this course is not completed within the given amount of time, a reinstatement fee of $35.00 may be charged.
Cancellation and Refund Policies
No refunds are available for this course. Cancellation requires no notification and students may discontinue the course at any time.
OnlineEd may honor post-sale rebate requests for differences in product pricing due to promotions or coupons only if the request is made within 3 business days of purchase. OnlineEd will not honor rebate requests for any products after 3 business days of purchase and will not price-match any competitor's products after a purchase is completed
Policies on Cheating and Misrepresentation
Misrepresentation of personal identity is strictly forbidden for all OnlineEd courses. Falsifying personal information, forgery, and misrepresentation may result in immediate suspension. Additional actions by state and federal agencies may include loss or suspension of a license, failure to grant a license, fees, or criminal prosecution.
Cheating on courses that supply completion certificates, designations, or official credit is not tolerated. OnlineEd is not obligated to continue to furnish credit or continued support for students caught cheating on any part of the coursework or testing.