Contact OnlineEd

Find this page again at:

1 Hour RI SAFE: Rhode Island Mortgage Regulations and Rules

Complete your RI DBR continuing education requirement with this state-specific 1 hour course.


Add To Cart Read More

Online Course
Printable Certificate
PDF & EPUB eBook
Add To Cart

At A Glance:

Price: $19.50 (USD)
+ $1.50 NMLS Credit Banking Fee
Purpose: 1-hour Rhode Island state-specific course for DBR-licensed mortgage loan originators
Features: online text, printable certificate, PDF eBook
Hours: 1 Hour
Category: Mortgage > Continuing Education > Rhode Island > CE Elective
Sponsor /
7405 SW Beveland Rd,
Portland, OR 97223
(503) 670-9278

Terms of Service:

1-hour Rhode Island state-specific course for DBR-licensed mortgage loan originators

NMLS Course ID: 10801

NMLS Sponsor ID: 1400327

View Course Syllabus

The Department of Business Regulation (DBR) requires mortgage licensees in this state to take a one-hour course on Rhode Island mortgage lending rules as part of the licensees' annual continuing education requirement for license renewal. This course covers several Rhode Island topics for licensee continuing education.

The first chapter of this course outlines the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulations and its Banking Division. The second chapter explains the prohibited actions outlined in the RI Home Loan Protection Act. The third chapter covers the classes of citizens that are protected from discrimination in this state. The fourth and last chapter covers the borrower's rights in regards to title insurance and describes prepayment and nonrefundable restrictions.

Topics and Learning Objectives

This course is broken down into several learning topics. At the end of the course a 15-question final exam will be given. The topics included in this course are:

  1. Overview (5 minutes)
  2. Rhode Island Home Loan Protection Act (20 minutes)
  3. Fair Housing Practices Act (5 minutes)
  4. Title Insurance and Mortgages Fees (10 minutes)
  5. Final exam (10 minutes)

Total study time: 1 clock hour

NMLS ID Required

You must have an NMLS ID to receive credit for this course. You will need this number before you begin the course.

If you already have an NMLS ID but don't remember what it is:

  • Login into NMLS
  • Click on the Composite View tab.
  • Click View Individual on the sub-header row.
  • The number that appears in parentheses after your name is your NMLS ID number.

If you do not have an NMLS ID and need to obtain one, use the instructions available in the NMLS Resource Center.

Our Mission Statement

To provide superior distance education that exceeds industry standards and expectations in course content and delivery methods to those who seek to enter a new profession and those engaged in a profession.
Purchase of this package requires that you read and acknowledge a Terms of Service agreement before receiving credit for any courses contained in this package. Please review the following: